Institute of Biotechnology and Drug Research (IBWF)

Scientific Portrait



What we work upon

The IBWF unites more than 40 years of research experience with fungi, enzymes, secondary metabolites and fungal genetics with a non-commercial, unique collection of about 20,000 fungi and their extracts. The strain collection comprises fungi from various ecological niches around the world and is an ideal basis for the suggested search in this project for the special "language" between microorganisms (plant and pathogen/fungus) and plants.
The interdisciplinary research focus on the chemistry/biology of natural products, the analysis and expression of proteins and the targeted genetic manipulation of microorganisms has for many years provided excellent opportunities for interdisciplinary, sectoral and cross-sectoral cooperation projects with partners from industry and science.




our contribution for DialogProTec

The interaction between plant and pathogen/fungus is determined or controlled by as yet unknown chemical communication signals between species. DialogProTec is driven by the question of which factors or molecules are exchanged between plants and pathogens and could contribute to disease development. In addition to identifying these signals - e.g. by activating this communication by switching on "silent" gene clusters (gene switches) in the fungus with plant signals - this interdisciplinary project will also identify reactions such as inducers of basal plant defense.
We identify and isolate novel fungal secondary metabolites, which are typically only produced in the plant, and characterize the resulting compounds with respect to their function in disease development, and provide the other partners with the respective fungal strains.




Project-relevant publications

Unravelling the biosynthesis of pyriculol in the rice blast fungus Magnaporthe oryzae. S. Jacob, T. Grötsch, A.J. Foster, A. Schüffler, P.H. Rieger, L.P. Sandjo, J.C. Liermann, T. Opatz, and E. Thines. Microbiology. 2017, 163, 541-553. doi:10.1099/mic.0.000396

Phytotoxic dioxolanone-type secondary metabolites from Guignardia bidwellii. I. Buckel, D. Molitor, J. C. Liermann, L. P. Sandjo, B. Berkelmann-Löhnertz, T. Opatz, E. Thines. Phytochemistry. 2013, 89, 96–103. doi:10.1016/j.phytochem.2013.01.004

Phytotoxic dioxolanones are potential virulence factors in the infection process of Guignardia bidwellii. I. Buckel, L. Andernach, A. Schüffler, M. Piepenbring, T. Opatz, and E. Thines. Scientific Reports. 2017, 7:8926. doi:10.1038/s41598-017-09157-6




Staff

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Thines
Prof. Dr. Eckhard Thines, Head of the subproject
Dr. Stefan Jacob
Dr. Stefan Jacob, Scientist





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg

Institut für Biotechnologie und Wirkstoff-Forschung (IBWF)

Wissenschaftliches Portrait



Woran wir arbeiten

Am IBWF vereint sich eine über 40-jährige Forschungserfahrung mit Pilzen, Enzymen, Sekundärmetaboliten und Pilzgenetik mit dem Besitz einer nichtkommerziellen, einzigartigen Stammsammlung von etwa 20.000 Pilzen und deren Extrakten. Die Stammsammlung besteht aus Pilzen aus verschiedensten ökologischen Nischen auf der ganzen Welt und ist eine ideale Basis für die in diesem Projekt vorgeschlagene Suche nach der besonderen "Sprache" zwischen Mikroorganismen (Krankheitserreger/Pilz) und Pflanze.
Die interdisziplinäre Forschungsausrichtung auf die Chemie/Biologie von Naturstoffen, die Analytik und Expression von Proteinen und die gezielte genetische Manipulation von Mikroorganismen bietet seit vielen Jahren hervorragende Möglichkeiten für disziplin-, branchen- und sektorenübergreifende Kooperationsprojekte mit Partnern aus Industrie und Wissenschaft.




Unser Beitrag zu DialogProTec

Die Interaktion zwischen Pflanze und Krankheitserreger/Pilz wird durch noch unbekannte chemische Kommunikationssignale zwischen den Arten bestimmt oder gesteuert. DialogProTec wird von der Frage getrieben, welche Faktoren oder Moleküle zwischen Pflanzen und Krankheitserregern ausgetauscht werden und zur Krankheitsentwicklung beitragen. Neben der Identifizierung dieser Signale – z.B. durch gezielte Aktivierung dieser Kommunikation durch das Anschalten „stiller“ Gencluster (Genschalter) im Pilz durch Pflanzensignale sollen in diesem interdisziplinären Projekt auch die Reaktionen wie z.B. Induktoren der Pflanzenabwehr identifiziert werden.
Wir identifizieren und isolieren neuartige Pilz-Sekundärmetaboliten, die normalerweise nur produziert werden, wenn der Pilz in der Pflanze ist und charakterisieren die resultierenden Verbindungen hinsichtlich ihrer Funktion in der Krankheitsentwicklung und liefern die anderen Projektpartner mit den geeigneten Pilzstämmen.




Publikationen zum Projekt

Unravelling the biosynthesis of pyriculol in the rice blast fungus Magnaporthe oryzae. S. Jacob, T. Grötsch, A.J. Foster, A. Schüffler, P.H. Rieger, L.P. Sandjo, J.C. Liermann, T. Opatz, and E. Thines. Microbiology. 2017, 163, 541-553. doi:10.1099/mic.0.000396

Phytotoxic dioxolanone-type secondary metabolites from Guignardia bidwellii. I. Buckel, D. Molitor, J. C. Liermann, L. P. Sandjo, B. Berkelmann-Löhnertz, T. Opatz, E. Thines. Phytochemistry. 2013, 89, 96–103. doi:10.1016/j.phytochem.2013.01.004

Phytotoxic dioxolanones are potential virulence factors in the infection process of Guignardia bidwellii. I. Buckel, L. Andernach, A. Schüffler, M. Piepenbring, T. Opatz, and E. Thines. Scientific Reports. 2017, 7:8926. doi:10.1038/s41598-017-09157-6




Mitarbeiter

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Thines
Prof. Dr. Eckhard Thines, Leiter des Teilprojekts
Dr. Stefan Jacob
Dr. Stefan Jacob, Wissenschafler





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg


2545