Chemical synthesis and structural elucidation of molecular candidates

Research topic



Fungi, plants, and microorganisms produce an enormous variety of chemical compounds that are not essential for their ground functions – the secondary metabolites. For some, a function as antibiotics, defence compounds, or pheromones, but for their majority, the function has remained enigmatic. To develop a deeper understanding of secondary metabolism, it is necessary to address the underyling metabolic pathways. In the last century, isotope labelling experiments demonstrated that secondary metabolites are composed from a limited number of building blocks (often acetate, amino acids, isoprene, or shikimate) that are subsequently modified in numerous ways. Thus, Nature plays a kind of „chemical LEOG“ by combining a limited repertory of building blocks in a modular manner to generate great chemical diversity. Biosynthetic processes that generate diversity, are, therefore, of prominent importance. Research in the lab of ALUF-MedPharm (University of Freiburg, Pharmaceutical Institute, Prof. Dr. Michael Müller) ventures to elucidate biosynthetic processes that are difficult to achieve by mere chemistry. A special focus is laid on the generation of metabolic diversity and, thus, the biocatalytic exploration of entire compound classes.

This is exemplified by the enzyme-driven oxidative coupling of phenolic moieties, where identical monomers can give rise to different dimers (Fig. 1). Still at the turn of the millenium, the underlying enzymes were mostly unknown. Especially through genomic analysis, we and other groups succeeded to identify a couple of phenol-coupling enzymes and to partially describe them.
enzyme-driven oxidative coupling of phenolic moieties
Fig. 1: enzyme-driven oxidative coupling of phenolic moieties

This showed that phenolic coupling can be catalysed by different oxidation systems, especially cytochrome-P450-enzymes and laccases, but also by peroxidases and possibly by flavin-dependent oxidases. While some of these enzymes are strictly substrate specific, others (that can be even closely related) indulge in promiscuity and accept several substrates. Which reaction is preferred, can depend from additional proteins, but also from the reaction conditions.

On this background, we will try in frame of this project to identify from bioactive fungal extracts the responsible molecules by means of activity-guided fractionation and, subsequently, to elucidate the structures of the responsible compounds. Of special interest are here the NADPH-dependent Oxidoreductases that account for the synthesis of polyketides, a central group of fungal secondary metabolites. In the next step, either these compounds, or variants of them generated by the aforementioned «chemical LEGO» via chemical synthesis or semi-synthesis, will be generated to get material for functional tests. In addition, there is the option, to link this molecular modularity with the modularity of the chip system, i.e. to simulate chemical reaction of interest on a microfluidic platform.




Reference

L. Fürtges, S. Obermaier, W. Thiele, S. Foegen and M. Müller, Diversity in Fungal Intermolecular Phenol Coupling of Polyketides – Regioselective Laccase‐based systems. ChemBioChem, 2019, 20, 1928–1932. doi.org/10.1002/cbic.201900041.

S. Obermaier and M. Müller, Biaryl-Forming Enzymes from Aspergilli Exhibit Substrate-Dependent Stereoselectivity, Biochemistry, 2019, 58, 2589–2593. doi.org/10.1002/chem.201705998

S. Obermaier, W. Thiele, L. Fürtges and M. Müller, Enantioselective Phenol Coupling by Laccases in the Biosynthesis of Fungal Dimeric Naphthopyrones. Angew. Chem. 2019, 58, 9125–9128. doi.org/10.1002/anie.201903759.





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg


52

Chemische Synthese und Strukturaufklärung von molekularen Kandidaten

Forschungsthema



Insbesondere Pilze und Pflanzen und Mikroorganismen produzieren eine enorme Vielfalt an chemischen Verbindungen, die nicht für ihr unmittelbares Überleben notwendig sind – die Sekundärmetabolite. Zwar konnte für einige gezeigt werden, dass sie als Antibiotika, Abwehrstoffe oder Pheromone fungieren, jedoch ist die Funktion für die Mehrheit dieser Stoffe unklar geblieben. Um ein tieferes Verständnis des Sekundärmetabolismus entwickeln zu können und damit auch einen Zugang zu neuen Wirkstoffen eröffnen zu können, ist es notwendig, sich mit den zugehörigen Biosyntheseprozessen auseinanderzusetzen. Im letzten Jahrhundert konnte über Isotopen-Markierungsexperimente gezeigt werden, dass die Sekundärmetabolite aus nur wenigen Bausteinen des zusammengesetzt werden (oft Acetat, Aminosäuren, Isopren oder Shikimat), die dann in vielfältiger Art modifiziert werden. Die Natur spielt also „chemisches Lego“, indem ein begrenztes Repertoir an Bausteinen über eine begrenzte Zahl von Basisregeln kombiniert werden können, so dass eine große chemische Vielfalt entsteht. Eine besondere Rolle kommt dabei Biosyntheseschritten zu, die Biodiversität erzeugen. Sie stellen Verzweigungspunkte in der Biosynthese dar. Die Forschung im Labor von ALUF-MedPharm (Universität Freiburg, Pharmazeutisches Institut, Prof. Dr. Michael Müller) zielt auf die Aufklärung von Biosyntheseschritten ab, die mit chemischen Methoden nur schwer durchführbar sind. Ein besonderes Augenmerk gilt dabei der Erzeugung metabolischer Diversität und damit der biokatalytischen Erschließung ganzer Substanzgruppen.

Ein Beispiel dafür ist die Enzym-katalysierte oxidative Phenolkupplung, bei der aus identischen Monomeren verschiedene Dimere entstehen können (Abb. 1). Noch zur Jahrtausendwende waren die zugrundeliegenden Enzyme weitgehend unbekannt. Insbesondere durch die Möglichkeit der Genomanalyse ist es uns und anderen Gruppen seitdem gelungen, eine Reihe von phenolkuppelnden Enzymen zu identifizieren und (teilweise) zu beschreiben.
Enzym-katalysierte oxidative Phenolkupplung
Abb. 1: Enzym-katalysierte oxidative Phenolkupplung

Dabei zeigt sich, dass Phenolkupplungen von verschiedenen Oxidationssystemen, vor allem Cytochrom-P450-Enzymen und Laccasen, aber auch von Peroxidasen und möglicherweise von Flavin-abhängigen Oxidasen katalysiert werden. Manche dieser Enzyme sind strikt substratspezifisch, andere (durchaus auch nah verwandte) Enzyme frönen dagegen der Promiskuität und akzeptieren mehrere Substrate. Dabei kann es von zusätzlichen Proteinen oder von den Reaktionsbedingungen abhängen, welche Reaktion katalysiert wird.

Vor diesem Hintergrund soll im Rahmen dieses Projekts versucht werden, aus aktiven Pilzextrakten die verantwortlichen Moleküle mithilfe aktivitätsgeleiteter Fraktionierung zu identifizieren und danach die chemische Struktur lösen. Interessant sind hierbei auch die NADPH-abhängigen Oxidoreduktasen, die für die Synthese von Polyketiden, einer zentralen Gruppe pilzlicher Sekundärmetaboliten, verantwortlich sind. Dann sollen entweder diese Zielkomponenten oder deren über das oben beschriebene «chemische Lego» erzeugte Varianten über chemische Synthese oder Hemisynthese erzeugt werden, um genügend Material für die funktionellen Tests zu erhalten. Ebenfalls besteht die Option, diese Modularität auf der Ebene der Molekülsynthese mit der Modularität des Chip-Systems zu verbinden, also chemische Reaktionswege von Interesse auf einer mikrofluidische Plattform nachzubilden.




Literaturquelle

L. Fürtges, S. Obermaier, W. Thiele, S. Foegen and M. Müller, Diversity in Fungal Intermolecular Phenol Coupling of Polyketides – Regioselective Laccase‐based systems. ChemBioChem, 2019, 20, 1928–1932. doi.org/10.1002/cbic.201900041.

S. Obermaier and M. Müller, Biaryl-Forming Enzymes from Aspergilli Exhibit Substrate-Dependent Stereoselectivity, Biochemistry, 2019, 58, 2589–2593. doi.org/10.1002/chem.201705998

S. Obermaier, W. Thiele, L. Fürtges and M. Müller, Enantioselective Phenol Coupling by Laccases in the Biosynthesis of Fungal Dimeric Naphthopyrones. Angew. Chem. 2019, 58, 9125–9128. doi.org/10.1002/anie.201903759.





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg


52