Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Scientific Portrait



What we are working upon

In close cooperation with various scientific and industrial partners, we are developing new chip systems for biological applications (so called BioMEMS) components that can be used in various areas of biomedicine, biology and biotechnology. In addition to nanostructured surfaces for dental implants, we work on polymer-based microfluidic systems for point-of-care diagnostics and organ-on-chip systems.

Based on this work, we have developed a microfluidic bioreactor in which plant cells can be cultivated together with our partners from KIT Botanical Institute as part of a BMBF-funded cooperation project. Its modular structure allows different cell types to be linked by a common metabolic flow, thus generating new substances or increasing efficiency.
microfluidic bioreactor

The microfluidic bioreactor consists of two chambers separated by a porous polymer membrane permeable to metabolites and nutrients. The plant cells are cultivated in the upper chamber and the supply current flows through the lower chamber, which can be used to connect several modules.




Our contribution for DialogProTec

Within the framework of the DialogProTec project, the chemical communication between fungal and plant cells is to be investigated. The idea is to modify the microfluidic bioreactor in such a way that fungal cells can also be cultivated in order to combine fungal and plant cell modules in a common metabolic flow. A further step is the integration of a third chamber so that both cell types can be cultivated within one bioreactor.
The IMT focuses on the production of these bioreactors from polymeric materials. The housing components are molded by hot embossing or injection molding and then joined together with the porous membrane by ultrasonic welding or adhesive bonding.




Project-relevant publications

Finkbeiner, T.; Soergel, H. L.; Koschitzky, M. P.; Ahrens, R.; Guber, A. E. (2019) Ultrasonic welding for the rapid integration of fluidic connectors into microfluidic chips. Journal of micromechanics and microengineering, 29 (6), Article no: 065011. doi:10.1088/1361-6439/ab10d2

Rajabi, T.; Finkbeiner, T.; Garschagen, R.; Ahrens, R.; Guber, A.E. (2018) Introduction of Polyethylene Terephthalate (PET) enabling the fabrication of in vitro models for medical or pharmaceutical applications; Proceedings of the 22nd International Conference of miniaturized Systems for Chemistry and Life Sciences , p. 2373-4

Maisch, J.; Kreppenhofer, K.; Büchler, S.; Merle, C.; Sobich, S.; Görling, B.; Luy, B.; Ahrens, R.; Guber, A. E.; Nick, P. (2016) Time-resolved NMR metabolomics of plant cells based on a microfluidic chip.. Journal of plant physiology, 200, 28–34 (https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jplph.2016.06.004).




Staff

Prof. Dr. Andreas Guber
Prof. Dr. Andreas Guber,
Head of the subproject
Dr. Ralf Ahrens
Dr. Ralf Ahrens,
scientific supervision
Leona Schmidt-Speicher
Leona Schmidt-Speicher,
PhD student





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg


3391

Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Wissenschaftliches Portrait



Woran wir arbeiten

Wir entwickeln in enger Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen und industriellen Partnern neue Chip-Komponenten für biologische Anwendungen (sogenannte BioMEMs), die in verschiedenen Bereichen der Biomedizin, Biologie und Biotechnologie eingesetzt werden können. Neben nanostrukturierten Oberflächen für Implantate im Dentalbereich arbeiten wir an polymerbasierten mikrofluidischen Systemen für die Point-of-Care-Diagnostik und für Organ-on-Chip-Systeme.

Auf Basis dieser Arbeiten haben wir zusammen mit unseren Partnern vom Botanischen Institut des KIT im Rahmen eines vom BMBF geförderten Kooperationsprojekts einen mikrofluidischen Bioreaktor entwickelt, in dem Pflanzenzellen kultiviert werden können. Sein modularer Aufbau erlaubt es, unterschiedliche Zelltypen durch einen gemeinsamen metabolischen Fluss miteinander zu verbinden und so ggf. neue Stoffe zu generieren oder die Effizienz zu steigern.
mikrofluidischer Bioreaktor

Der mikrofluidische Bioreaktor besteht aus 2 Kammern, die durch eine permeable Polymermembran voneinander getrennt sind, die für Stoffwechselprodukte und Nährstoffe durchlässig ist. In der oberen Kammer werden die Pflanzenzellen kultiviert, durch die untere Kammer fließt der Versorgungsstrom, mit dessen Hilfe mehrere Module miteinander verbunden werden können.




Unser Beitrag zu DialogProTec

Im Rahmen des DialogProTec-Projektes soll die chemische Kommunikation zwischen Pilz- und Pflanzenzellen untersucht werden. Die Idee ist, den mikrofluidischen Bioreaktor so zu modifizieren, dass auch Pilzzellen kultiviert werden können, um dann Pilz- und Pflanzenzellmodule in einem gemeinsamen metabolischen Fluss zu kombinieren. Ein weiterer Schritt ist die Integration einer dritten Kammer, so dass beide Zellarten innerhalb eines Bioreaktors kultiviert werden können.
Der Schwerpunkt des IMT liegt hierbei bei der Fertigung dieser Bioreaktoren aus polymeren Werkstoffen. Die Gehäusekomponenten werden dabei durch Heißprägen oder Spritzgießen abgeformt und dann zusammen mit der permeablen Membran mittels Ultraschallschweißen oder Klebeverfahren miteinander verbunden.




Publikationen zum Projekt

Finkbeiner, T.; Soergel, H. L.; Koschitzky, M. P.; Ahrens, R.; Guber, A. E. (2019) Ultrasonic welding for the rapid integration of fluidic connectors into microfluidic chips. Journal of micromechanics and microengineering, 29 (6), Article no: 065011. doi:10.1088/1361-6439/ab10d2

Rajabi, T.; Finkbeiner, T.; Garschagen, R.; Ahrens, R.; Guber, A.E. (2018) Introduction of Polyethylene Terephthalate (PET) enabling the fabrication of in vitro models for medical or pharmaceutical applications; Proceedings of the 22nd International Conference of miniaturized Systems for Chemistry and Life Sciences , p. 2373-4

Maisch, J.; Kreppenhofer, K.; Büchler, S.; Merle, C.; Sobich, S.; Görling, B.; Luy, B.; Ahrens, R.; Guber, A. E.; Nick, P. (2016) Time-resolved NMR metabolomics of plant cells based on a microfluidic chip.. Journal of plant physiology, 200, 28–34 (https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jplph.2016.06.004).




Mitarbeiter

Prof. Dr. Andreas Guber
Prof. Dr. Andreas Guber,
Leitung des Teilprojekts
Dr. Ralf Ahrens
Dr. Ralf Ahrens, wissenschaftliche Betreuung
Leona Schmidt-Speicher
Leona Schmidt-Speicher, Doktorandin





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg


1464