Botanical Institute
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Scientific Portrait



What we work on

Life is not easy. There are two approaches to cope with that – animals run away, plants adapt. We want to understand, how. The key are plant cells that mediate shape, adaptation and the enormous diversity of plants. Wie address this on three levels: In the group Applied Biodiversity, we try to dissect, protect and valorise evolutionary diversity. In the focus are wild relatives of crop plants. In the group Plant Stress, we try to understand, how plants can differentiate between and respond appropriately to different types of stress. Our motivation is the sustainable agriculture of the future. Therefore, we work on the crop plants Rice, Sorghum, and Grapevine. Our central lever ist he plant hormone jasmonic acid.
In the group Cellular Biotechnology we ask a fundamental question of developmental biology: plants can generate an entire organism from any cell. We cannot. How does a population of individuals organise an entity. How can a cell sense its integrity? These scientific questions lead to new applications. Can we manipulate cells through "chemical Trojan horses" without perturbing their integrity; can we organise different cell types in a microfluidic biofermenter into a technical entity to make them generate medically interesting compounds?




Our contribution to DialogProTec

Using cell cultures, we have mapped the immune responses of grapevine in great detail and know several key genes and responses that decide, whether a plant cell can successfully ward off a pathogen attack. In the Botanical Garden of the KIT, we have assembled a collection of the European Wild Grape (the ancestor of our grapevine), representing the entire genetic diversity for this species still remaining in Germany. For this collection, in a cooperation with the Chinese Academy of Sciences, all genomes have been deciphered and organised in a database, such that we can find all naturally occurring gene variants. These include also highly efficient genetic switches (so called transcription factors) for plant immunity.
These are now used to generate a test system for immunity activation. The control sequence of these switches are placed upstream of the gene coding for the Green Fluorescent Protein, and this newly assembled gene construct is introducted into plant cells. Each time, when immunity is acitvated, a green fluorescence results that can be measured. These cells will then be integrated intot the chip system developed by partner KIT-IMT, such that we can investigate the fungal strains provided by partner IWBF. Strains that make our „immunity detector“ light up, will then be investigated further by partner ALUF, to identify the signal responsible for this immunity response.




Project-relevant publications

Akaberi S, Wang H, Claudel P, Riemann M, Hause B, Hugueney P, Nick P (2018) Grapevine Fatty Acid Hydroperoxide Lyase Generates Actin-Disrupting Volatiles and Promotes Defence-Related Cell Death. J Exp Bot 69, 2883-2896

Duan D, Fischer S, Merz PR, Bogs J, Riemann M, Nick P (2016) An ancestral allele of grapevine transcription factor MYB14 promotes plant defence. J Exp Bot 67, 1795-1804

Nick P (2014) Schützen und nützen - von der Erhaltung zur Anwendung. Fallbeispiel Europäische Wildrebe. Hoppea Denkschr Regensb Bot Ges Sonderband, 159-173




Staff

Prof. Dr. Peter Nick
Prof. Dr. Peter Nick, Head of project
Dr. Alexandra Wolf
Dr. Alexandra Wolf, coordinator
M. Sci. Christian Metzger
M. Sci. Christian Metzger, PhD student





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg


1464

Botanisches Institut
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Wissenschaftliches Portrait



Woran wir arbeiten

Leben ist nicht einfach. Es gibt zwei Wege, das zu meistern – Tiere rennen davon, Pflanzen passen sich an. Wir wollen verstehen, wie. Der Schlüssel sind pflanzliche Zellen, denn sie vermitteln Gestalt, Anpassung und die enorme Vielfalt der Pflanzen. Wir untersuchen das auf drei Ebenen: In der Gruppe Angewandte Biodiversität versuchen wir, die evolutionäre Vielfalt zu erkennen, zu schützen und zu nutzen. Im Zentrum: wilde Verwandte unserer Kulturpflanzen. In der Gruppe Pflanzenstress versuchen wir zu verstehen, wie Pflanzen unterschiedliche Arten von Stress unterscheiden und angemessen darauf reagieren können. Wir forschen für eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft der Zukunft und arbeiten daher mit den Nutzpflanzen Reis, Sorghum und Weinrebe.
Unser zentraler Hebel ist das Hormon Jasmonsäure. In der Gruppe Zelluläre Biotechnologie geht es uns um eine Grundfrage der Entwicklungsbiologie: Pflanzen können aus jeder einzelnen Zelle einen ganzen Organismus bilden. Wir können das nicht. Wir wird ein Zellhaufen zu einem Ganzen, wie stellt eine Zelle fest, ob sie noch intakt ist. Diese Grundlagen bringen neue Anwendungen hervor - können wir Zellen mittels "chemischer Trojaner" manipulieren ohne ihre Integrität zu stören; können wir verschiedene Zellen in einem mikrofluidischen Bioreaktor zu einem technischen Ganzen zusammenschließen, um so medizinisch interessante Wirkstoffe erzeugen zu können?




Unser Beitrag zu DialogProTec

Mithilfe von Zellkulturen haben wir die Immunreaktionen der Weinrebe sehr detailliert analysiert und kennen nun mehrere Schlüsselgene und –reaktionen, die darüber entscheiden, ob sich eine Pflanzenzelle erfolgreich gegen einen Krankheitserreger zu wehren vermag. Im Botanischen Garten des KIT haben wir eine Sammlung der Europäischen Wildrebe (der Stamm-Mutter unserer Weinrebe) etabliert, welche die gesamte in Deutschland noch vorhandene genetische Diversität für diese Art versammelt. Für diese Sammlung wurden inzwischen in einer Kooperation mit der Chinesischen Akademie der Wissenschaften alle Genome entschlüsselt und in einer Datenbank organisiert, so dass wir alle natürlich noch vorkommenden Genvarianten finden können. Darunter sind auch besonders wirksame Genschalter (sogenannte Transkriptionsfaktoren) für die pflanzliche Immunität.
Diese werden nun genutzt, um ein Testverfahren für die Aktivierung der Immunität zu entwickeln. Die Steuersequenz dieser Genschalter wird vor das Gen für das Grün Fluoreszente Protein gesetzt und dieses neu zusammengefügte Genkonstrukt in pflanzliche Zellen eingebracht. Immer dann, wenn das Immunsystem aktiv wird, entsteht eine grüne Fluoreszenz, die man messen kann. Diese Zellen werden dann in das von Partner KIT-IMT entwickelte Chip-System eingesetzt, so dass wir damit die von Partner IBWF zur Verfügung gestellten Pilzstämme untersuchen können. Pilzstämme, die unseren „Immunitäts-Detektor“ zum Leuchten bringen, werden dann von Partner ALUF weiter untersucht, um so das für die Reaktion verantwortliche Signal dingfest machen zu können.




Publikationen zum Projekt

Akaberi S, Wang H, Claudel P, Riemann M, Hause B, Hugueney P, Nick P (2018) Grapevine Fatty Acid Hydroperoxide Lyase Generates Actin-Disrupting Volatiles and Promotes Defence-Related Cell Death. J Exp Bot 69, 2883-2896

Duan D, Fischer S, Merz PR, Bogs J, Riemann M, Nick P (2016) An ancestral allele of grapevine transcription factor MYB14 promotes plant defence. J Exp Bot 67, 1795-1804

Nick P (2014) Schützen und nützen - von der Erhaltung zur Anwendung. Fallbeispiel Europäische Wildrebe. Hoppea Denkschr Regensb Bot Ges Sonderband, 159-173




Mitarbeiter

Prof. Dr. Peter Nick
Prof. Dr. Peter Nick, Projektleiter
Dr. Alexandra Wolf
Dr. Alexandra Wolf, Koordinatorin
M. Sci. Christian Metzger
M. Sci. Christian Metzger, Doktorand





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg


1470