Institut für Pharmazeutische Wissenschaften
University of Freiburg
Scientific Portrait



What we work on

Researchers have shown that secondary metabolites are composed of only a few different building blocks of the primary metabolism and are then modified in many ways. This means that despite the structural diversity, biosynthesis is based on only a few basic rules, which can be varied and combined in many ways. Biosynthesis steps in which one reaction can lead to different products play a special role. They represent branching points in biosynthesis.
The research of our group aims at the elucidation of such biosynthetic steps, which are often difficult to perform with chemical methods. Special attention is paid to the generation of metabolic diversity and thus the biocatalytic exploitation of entire substance groups.




Our contribution to DialogProTec

Our research is methodologically broadly based and ranges from bioinformatic gene analyses, genetic engineering work on bacteria, yeasts and filamentous fungi, overexpression of proteins and their purification, enzymological activity assays, isolation of metabolites and their structure elucidation (e.g. LC-MS, NMR, CD, VCD), to chemical syntheses of substrates and reference compounds.
For further research areas in the Müller working group: C-C bond linkage of carbonyl compounds with thiamine-diphosphate-dependent enzymes and stereoselective reduction of imines and C=C double bonds with NAD(P)H-dependent enzymes, see our homepage (www.pharmchem.uni-freiburg.de/....




Project-relevant publications

L. Fürtges, S. Obermaier, W. Thiele, S. Foegen and M. Müller, Diversity in Fungal Intermolecular Phenol Coupling of Polyketides – Regioselective Laccase‐based systems. ChemBioChem, 2019, 20, 1928–1932 (doi.org/10.1002/cbic.201900041).

S. Obermaier and M. Müller, Biaryl-Forming Enzymes from Aspergilli Exhibit Substrate-Dependent Stereoselectivity, Biochemistry, 2019, 58, 2589–2593 (doi.org/10.1002/chem.201705998).

S. Obermaier, W. Thiele, L. Fürtges and M. Müller, Enantioselective Phenol Coupling by Laccases in the Biosynthesis of Fungal Dimeric Naphthopyrones. Angew. Chem. 2019, 58, 9125–9128 (doi.org/10.1002/anie.201903759).

N. Saha, A. Mondal, K. Witte, S. K. Singh, M. Müller and S. M. Husain, Monomeric Dihydroanthraquinones: A Chemoenzymatic Approach and its (Bio)synthetic Implications for Bisanthraquinones, Chemistry – A European Journal, 2018, 24, 1283-1286 (doi.org/10.1002/chem.201705998).

K. G. Hugentobler and M. Müller, Towards semisynthetic natural compounds with a biaryl axis: Oxidative phenol coupling in Aspergillus niger. Bioorg. Med. Chem., 2018, 26, 1374–1377 (doi.org/10.1016/j.bmc.2017.08.008).





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg

Institut für Pharmazeutische Wissenschaften
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Wissenschaftliches Portrait



Woran wir arbeiten

Forschende haben gezeigt, dass Sekundärmetabolite aus nur wenigen verschiedenen Bausteinen des Primärmetabolismus zusammengesetzt und dann in vielfältiger Art modifiziert werden. Das heißt, trotz der strukturellen Vielfalt liegen der Biosynthese nur wenige Basisregeln zu Grunde, die aber in vielfältiger Weise variiert und kombiniert werden können. Eine besondere Rolle kommt dabei Biosyntheseschritten zu, bei denen eine Reaktion zu unterschiedlichen Produkten führen können.
Sie stellen Verzweigungspunkte in der Biosynthese dar. Die Forschung unserer Gruppe zielt auf die Aufklärung von solcher Biosyntheseschritte ab, die oft mit chemischen Methoden nur schwer durchführbar sind. Ein besonderes Augenmerk gilt dabei der Erzeugung metabolischer Diversität und damit der biokatalytischen Erschließung ganzer Substanzgruppen.




Unser Beitrag zu DialogProTec

Unsere Forschung ist methodisch breit aufgestellt und reicht von bioinformatischen Genanalysen über gentechnische Arbeiten an Bakterien, Hefen und filamentösen Pilzen, Überexpression von Proteinen und deren Reinigung, enzymologische Aktivitätsassays, Isolierung von Metaboliten und deren Strukturaufklärung (u.a. LC-MS, NMR, CD, VCD), bis hin zu chemischen Synthesen von Substraten und Referenzverbindungen.
Zu weiteren Forschungsgebieten im Arbeitskreis Müller: C–C-Bindungsknüpfung von Carbonylverbindungen mit Thiamin-Diphosphat-abhängigen Enzymen und stereoselektive Reduktion von Iminen und C=C-Doppelbindungen mit NAD(P)H-abhängigen Enzymen, siehe unsere Homepage.




Publikationen zum Projekt

L. Fürtges, S. Obermaier, W. Thiele, S. Foegen and M. Müller, Diversity in Fungal Intermolecular Phenol Coupling of Polyketides – Regioselective Laccase‐based systems. ChemBioChem, 2019, 20, 1928–1932 (doi.org/10.1002/cbic.201900041).

S. Obermaier and M. Müller, Biaryl-Forming Enzymes from Aspergilli Exhibit Substrate-Dependent Stereoselectivity, Biochemistry, 2019, 58, 2589–2593 (doi.org/10.1002/chem.201705998).

S. Obermaier, W. Thiele, L. Fürtges and M. Müller, Enantioselective Phenol Coupling by Laccases in the Biosynthesis of Fungal Dimeric Naphthopyrones. Angew. Chem. 2019, 58, 9125–9128 (doi.org/10.1002/anie.201903759).

N. Saha, A. Mondal, K. Witte, S. K. Singh, M. Müller and S. M. Husain, Monomeric Dihydroanthraquinones: A Chemoenzymatic Approach and its (Bio)synthetic Implications for Bisanthraquinones, Chemistry – A European Journal, 2018, 24, 1283-1286 (doi.org/10.1002/chem.201705998).

K. G. Hugentobler and M. Müller, Towards semisynthetic natural compounds with a biaryl axis: Oxidative phenol coupling in Aspergillus niger. Bioorg. Med. Chem., 2018, 26, 1374–1377 (doi.org/10.1016/j.bmc.2017.08.008).





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg