Microfluidic Chips

Research Topic



At the Institute of Microstructure Technology of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, polymer-based microfluidic systems for analytical, biological and medical applications have been developed for many years. These systems usually consist of two microstructured housing chambers separated by a porous membrane. The chambers are manufactured by hot stamping into biocompatible polymers such as polycarbonate (PC), polyethylene terephthalate (PET) or cyclic olefin copolymers (COC). Various manufacturing techniques such as special bonding techniques, thermal bonding or ultrasonic welding are used for the assembly.

In cooperation with various partners from biology and medicine, such systems have been used to study the differentiation of animal stem cells, the migration of cancer cells in an artificial blood vessel or for a simulation of the blood-brain barrier. In cooperation with the Botanical Institute at KIT, a microfluidic bioreactor for plant cells was developed in order to be able to combine cells with different metabolic performances in a modular way and thus produce new active substances.

microfluidic bioreactor
Figure 1: The microfluidic bioreactor with connections.

What the plant chip can do
A paper published in the journal Protoplasma (https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00709-021-01650-0) has now shown what this modular plant chip can be used for. When plant cells are cultivated in high dilution, they do not divide. With the help of the chip, it could be shown that these "lonely" cells divide again when they are held "downstream" from a chip in which many cells are present. Cells can therefore sense how many other cells are in their environment (so-called quorum sensing).

quorum sensing in plant cells
Figure 2: Quorum sensing in plant cells


Currently, the first molecular candidates for this "social hormone" are already being investigated. In a second application, different cell lines of the Madagascan periwinkle (Catharanthus roseus) were combined via the chip. This plant produces the sought-after anti-tumour agent vincristine, admittedly in tiny quantities (200 kg of leaf material is needed for 1 mg). For more than half a century, attempts have been made in vain to produce this substance in cell culture. This very complex metabolic pathway consists of two mutually inhibiting branches, which then have to be brought together to form the important precursor vindoline. In the plant, this contradiction is circumvented in such a way that each branch is active in its own tissue type. This could now be successfully recreated in the chip. While one cell line produces only tabersonin, only catharantin is found in the other line.

With the help of "metabolic LEGO", teamwork could be recreated with the chip and vindoline could be produced in cell culture for the first time.

Metabolic LEGO in plant cells
Figure 3: Metabolic LEGO in plant cells


The third application goes one step further - here, a small ecosystem is recreated on the chip by cultivating plant and fungal cells together. These are fungi that live in the wood of grapevines and, for some years now, in response to the dry and hot summers, have suddenly started to produce toxins that cause the vines to collapse. The formation of these phytotoxins could now also be simulated with the chip. The first toxins have already been molecularly elucidated.

Phytotoxins from fungi
Figure 4: Phytotoxins from fungi




Using the Biochips
Video in German

Video modularer Pflanzenreaktor




Reference

Finkbeiner T, Manz C, Raorane ML, Metzger C, Schmidt-Speicher L, Shen N, Ahrens R, Maisch J, Nick P, Guber AE. A modular microfluidic bioreactor to investigate plant cell-cell interactions. Protoplasma. 2021 May 2. doi: 10.1007/s00709-021-01650-0.

Maisch J, Kreppenhofer K, Büchler S, Merle C, Sobich S, Luy B, Ahrens R, Guber A, Nick P (2016) Time-resolved NMR metabolomics of plant cells based on a microfluidic chip. J Plant Physiol 200, 28-34





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg


12566

Microfluidic Chips

Forschungsthema



Am Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie werden seit vielen Jahren polymerbasierte Mikrofluidiksysteme für analytische, biologische und medizinische Anwendungen entwickelt. Diese Systeme bestehen in der Regel aus zwei mikrostrukturierten Gehäusekammern, die von einer porösen Membran getrennt sind. Die Kammern werden durch Heißprägung in bioverträgliche Polymere wie Polycarbonat (PC), Polyethylenterephthalat (PET) oder zyklische Olefin Kopolymere (COC) gefertigt. Für die Assemblierung werden verschiedene Fertigungstechniken wie spezielle Klebetechniken, thermisches Bonden oder Ultraschallschweißen eingesetzt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Partnern aus Biologie oder Medizin wurden solche Systeme zur Untersuchung der Differenzierung von tierischen Stammzellen, die Wanderung von Krebszellen in einem künstlichen Blutgefäß oder für eine Simulation der Blut-Hirn-Schranke eingesetzt. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Botanischen Institut des KIT wurde ein mikrofluidischer Bioreaktor für Pflanzenzellen entwickelt, um damit Zellen mit verschiedenen metabolischen Leistungen in modularer Weise kombinieren und so neue Wirkstoffe erzeugen zu können.

mikrofluidische Bioreaktor mit Anschlüssen
Abb. 1: Der mikrofluidische Bioreaktor mit Anschlüssen

Was der Pflanzenchip kann
In einer in der Fachzeitschrift Protoplasma veröffentlichten Arbeit (https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00709-021-01650-0) wurde nun dargestellt, wofür dieser modulare Pflanzenchip eingesetzt werden kann. Werden Pflanzenzellen in hoher Verdünnung kultiviert, teilen sie sich nicht. Mithilfe des Chips konnte gezeigt werden, dass diese „einsamen“ Zellen sich wieder teilen, wenn sie „stromab“ von einem Chip gehalten werden, in dem sich viele Zellen tummeln. Zellen können also wahrnehmen, wie viele andere Zellen in ihrer Umgebung sind (sogenanntes quorum sensing).

quorum sensing in Pflanzenzellen
Abb. 2: Quorum sensing in Pflanzenzellen


Derzeit werden schon erste molekulare Kandidaten für dieses „Sozialhormon“ untersucht. In einer zweiten Anwendung wurden unterschiedliche Zell-Linien des Madagassischen Immergrüns (Catharanthus roseus) über den Chip kombiniert. Diese Pflanze erzeugt den begehrten Anti-Tumorwirkstoff Vincristin, freilich in winzigen Mengen (für ein 1 mg braucht man 200 kg Blattmaterial). Seit mehr als einem halben Jahrhundert versucht man vergeblich, diesen Stoff in Zellkultur zu erzeugen. Dieser sehr komplexe Stoffwechselweg besteht aus zwei sich gegenseitig hemmenden Zweigen, die dann zu der wichtigen Vorstufe Vindolin zusammengeführt werden müssen. In der Pflanze wird dieser Gegensatz so umschifft, dass jeder Zweig in einem eigenen Gewebstyp aktiv ist. Dies konnte nun erfolgreich im Chip nachgestellt werden. Während die eine Zell-Linie nur Tabersonin erzeugt, findet man in der anderen Linie nur Catharantin.

Durch „metabolisches LEGO“ konnte mithilfe des Chips die Teamarbeit nachgestellt werden und erstmals in Zellkultur Vindolin erzeugt werden.

Metabolisches LEGO mit Pflanzenzellen
Abb. 3: Metabolisches LEGO mit Pflanzenzellen


Die dritte Anwendung geht noch einen Schritt weiter – hier wird ein kleines Ökosystem auf dem Chip nachgestellt, indem Pflanzen- und Pilzzellen gemeinsam kultiviert werden. Es handelt sich um Pilze, die im Holz von Weinstöcken leben und seit einigen Jahren in Antwort auf die trockenen und heißen Sommer plötzlich damit beginnen, Toxine zu bilden, die den Zusammenbruch der Rebstöcke bewirken. Die Bildung dieser Phytotoxine konnte nun ebenfalls mit dem Chip nachgestellt werden. Auch hier sind so schon erste Toxine molekular aufgeklärt worden.

Phytotoxine aus Pilzen
Abb. 4: Phytotoxine aus Pilzen




Anwendungsmöglichkeiten des Biochips

Video modularer Pflanzenreaktor




Literaturquellen

Finkbeiner T, Manz C, Raorane ML, Metzger C, Schmidt-Speicher L, Shen N, Ahrens R, Maisch J, Nick P, Guber AE. A modular microfluidic bioreactor to investigate plant cell-cell interactions. Protoplasma. 2021 May 2. doi: 10.1007/s00709-021-01650-0.

Maisch J, Kreppenhofer K, Büchler S, Merle C, Sobich S, Luy B, Ahrens R, Guber A, Nick P (2016) Time-resolved NMR metabolomics of plant cells based on a microfluidic chip. J Plant Physiol 200, 28-34





Copyright © 2020 www.dialogprotec.eu     All Rights Reserved.     Impressum     Datenschutzerklärung


Logos EU und Interreg


10823